Our footballers chalked up another success in the recent 10th Annual Sam Chandrasinghe Challenge Trophy. 48 schools from across the country took part in the seven-a-side tournament and we reached the semi-finals before going out on penalties to Ananda College, the hosts and eventual champions. Along the way, we knocked out St. Benedict’s College, who had beaten us in the final of our Super 8 tournament in February. Credit should go to Namhun Cho, Jang Pyo Hong and Aron Rahim who held their nerves to all score in three consecutive penalty shoot-outs before our eventual defeat.

1st Match: Saddhatissa Vidyalaya, Ampara Won 2-0 (Namhun, Naveed)

2nd Match: Dharmaraja College, Kandy Won 0-0 (3-0 on penalties)

3rd Match: St. Benedict’s College Won 0-0 (3-3 on penalties; won Coin Toss)

Quarter-Final: Dharmaraja College, Kandy Won 0-0 (Won on penalties)

Semi-Final: Ananda College Lost 0-0 (Lost on penalties)

<< Back